When it Seems Insignificant

I had big plans for the summer. Plans that I thought were laced with Kingdom work and that would make an actual difference. I wanted a summer that had a significant story, one that left a mark on my life. The very last thing in the world I wanted was to end up in Norman doing the same ol, same ol. At the time, a summer spent in Norman meant a summer of stagnance, a summer of waking up, going to work, and going to sleep.

And guess where I ended up? Right here in Norman. Waking up, going to work, and going to sleep. The craziest thing of all?? It is anything but stagnant. Although I am working a lot and it seems that’s really all I’m doing this summer, I’m not just working. I’m creating relationships with young girls who love gymnastics by helping then develop a firm foundation so that one day when they’re level 10 gymnasts and their bodies hurt and they want to skip practice to go to that high school football game and be a normal student, they’ll remember why they fell in love with the sport in the first place. If all comes back to how carefully they were prepared for the things to come. Right now, what they’re doing in this sport seems insignificant and maybe it even is. But it’s just for a season. They won’t always just be learning how to correctly walk in releve down the balance beam. One day they’ll be doing switch leaps and backtucks and aerials. But they can’t start there today, ya know?

That’s kind of how I view this current season. It’s a season of much needed rest. Rest I didn’t think I needed. A season to readjust the foundation I’m standing on and figure out the calling on my life while gently going back to the fundamentals.  It’s a season to get filled up from the bottom ofmy toes  to the top of my head with the goodness and grace of God. In all honesty, I think it’s a season of preparation. I’m full of anticipation for the things to come! I don’t think God wastes anything. Especially when it comes to our time. If a season of rest was what he saw best for my current stage of life, then that’s what I’ll be doing. One day I’ll be thankful for the rest I had today because there will be mountains to climb and races to race somewhere down the road.

But even though it’s a season of rest, it’s still a season of doing. A season of waiting and pursuing Christ isn’t the time to relax and mess around. It’s the time to dig deep and become active in who he is creating me to be. So be encouraged!! If you’re in a season that seems to have no point, maybe it’s actually a season of rest. And usually, after a season of rest comes a lot of activity. If God is making you wait and rest, enjoy it. It won’t always be that way. The seasons always change. Although we’re in the full swing of summer, soon the leaves will start to change colors and fall will sneak up on us. That’s just how it always goes.

Wherever God has you, whatever he’s doing, know that it IS His wisest move. His absolute wisest move. He’s working, He has a plan for your life and its going to be so incredibly good. I just promise you. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

